camera stylo v.9

caméra stylo (cah-may-rah stee-low):

  • development by Astruc…and, more prominently, of André Bazin, whose thought molded an entire generation of filmmakers, critics, and scholars. In 1948 Astruc formulated the concept of the caméra-stylo (“camera-pen”), in which film was regarded as a form of audiovisual language and the filmmaker, therefore, as a kind of writer in light…  (from Encyclopedia Britannica)

Caméra Stylo is the annual Cinema Studies Undergraduate Journal that publishes a select amount of student essays in order to encourage cinematic discourse.  This year’s edition had five essays, one being mine!  I was very very honoured to be published in it, because in the academic world, becoming published in a journal (or otherwise) is a very big deal.  

If you would like to read my essay, click here for an online copy. My essay starts on page 58/59.

I don't understand the cover art either.

I don't understand the cover art either.

Yes, that's Zac & Vanessa

Yes, that's Zac & Vanessa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Last night was the launch party for the new edition, so I decided to try out my new Stila Smudgepot in black to see how well it fares over a night of (free!) drinks and dancing.

camerastylo-eyes

the "before" shot

The "before" shot.

pics taken @ 8 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used the smudgepot on my waterline as well. It didn’t fare as well as my upper eyeline, but that’s expected. I was impressed overall!

the aftermath.  pretty impressed!

the aftermath. pretty impressed! picture taken @ 3:30 am

Yeah…the flash is definitely not flattering.  Oh well!

I used the Body Shop’s Matte It Face & Lips as a primer all over my face, and it did work very well.  More so than the Perfekt Skin Perfection Gel. I was too “preoccupied” to blot the entire night, so let’s chalk up the shininess to an overload of Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick…hehe.  

I’m wearing the new Revlon Matte lipstick in Nude Attitude.  I love this colour when paired with a nude lipliner and sheer gloss on top.  Tones down the “concealer”-ish look, and makes it more pink.

Ok, enough cam whoring.

I leave you with the 2 pictures I took that night with friends.

my friend on the left is not impressed with the crazy flash. the peace signs are inherent whenever a camera is set in front of me.

My friend on the left is not impressed with the crazy flash. The peace signs are inherent whenever a camera is set in front of me. Also, random old dude in the back...sweet!

This time, I am not impressed with the flash.  What is up with my hair?

This time, I am not impressed with the flash. What is up with my hair? Check my friend's skinny tie and cardigan - HIPSTER.

One thought on “camera stylo v.9

  1. thanks for commenting 🙂 Yeah I’ve been to Download rock festival before, saw plenty of moshing there when LP was playing xD

    Im a fan of the tings tings too (being british n all ;)) so I cant wait to check them out!

    thats a pretty purple look there! goes with the outfit 😀

Leave a Reply

