karen o inspired look (pic heavy)

So I finally had enough time to do a Karen O. look!  I obviously can’t emulate her hairstyle, but I tried to do my best with the beauty look.  I had so much fun playing around with my neglected bright coloured makeup for this look!

One thing that’s glaringly missing are the false lashes…my glue dried out!!!  It would have been a much more impactful look if I had the lashes…oh well.

Inspiration: Ms. Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

  • porcelain skin
  • powder pink cheeks
  • glittery bright blue eyes with strong black liner and big lashes
  • jelly red lips

screen-capture-1screen-capture1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eyes:

bottom 2 are in bathroom lighting w/ colour correction

bottom 2 are in bathroom lighting w/ colour correction

The top image is in natural lighting, so it tends to wash out the intensity of the colour.
The bottom two are a better depiction of the glimmery-ness + the gold sparkles I added.
Hehe, the bottom picture looks like I’m cross eyed.

karen-o-eyes1

You can really see how much the shadow colour changes according to lighting.

karen-o-eyes2

I assumed that Karen O would have strong & thick eyebrows.

 Face:

karen-o-face1
karen-o-face2

 Lips:

p4220781

Products:

Face = Quo Total Perfection Foundation + Clinique Fresh Bloom in Peony + Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact

p41107531

Lips = Guerlain Kiss Kiss Shade 523 + random red gloss from Costco

Brows = NYC Browser Brow Kit in Smoke (powder + wax kit)

Eyes = Eyeko 3-in-1 Cream + EDM Shadow in Beach Towel + L’oreal HIP Shadow Duo in Showy + La Palette Shadow in Berlin Blue + Annabelle Quad in Misted Up + NYX Jumbo Pencil in Cottage Cheese + Stila Smudgepot in Black + Coastal Scents Cosmetic Hologram Glitter in Treasure Chest + NYX Doll Eyes Mascara in Waterproof 

p4110769p4220794p4110760

 

 

 

 

I combined the Eyeko cream with the EDM shadow to create a base.

Mixing the Berlin Blue and the left side of Showy resulted in the “prismatic” colour.

 

p4110744p41107702

 

 

 

 

 

I got the Showy shadow from Tao’s blog sale. She’s getting rid of a lot of great stuff @ great prices!! Check her blog out – she’s hilarious to boot!

7 thoughts on “karen o inspired look (pic heavy)

  1. wow now that is blue!! dontcha just love the annabelle shadows??! 😀 I wanna get more when I got money, I hope they will always have these!

    hmm I think I should finish my vitamin peel cause it was expensive lol
    I just wanted to try it out cause I wanted soemthing with vitamin c to work to even out my skintone. the facial steam already has AHA, forgot to say!

    • i loooove the brightness! show makeup is a lot of fun =)

      and yeah, the annabelle shadows are so soft & pigmented, i love ’em. i’m going to stock up next time they have a sale. my sister got a quad too, so i can always “borrow” her colours, tee hee.

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your lips!! HOLY crap! They are perfect!

    I really like now showy looks on it. It’s so bright and fun! It brings out your eyes too! Gorgeous!

    • haha thanks tao, but they are so NOT perfect! i have a lopsided bottom lip that i have to fix with liner everytime i wear lipstick. but isn’t the illusion of makeup fantastic?

  3. Hi!
    I’m a first time visitor of your blog.

    Really nice pictures on your eye makeup. So glad, I met another monolid girl, yay! 😉

    Cheers!
    Jess

Leave a Reply

