depotting hip duos & spring party look

So I was browsing the blogger network, and I came across Ms. Katelyn’s (aka Chomfifi) blog post on how to depot L’oreal Hip Duo shadows!  It was her first time depotting, and she made it look so easy!  So I decided to give it a go.

I hate that the Hip Duos are so bulky for such tiny pans!  I only have 4 of the Duos, but I thought that would be enough to make a quad…or something of that sort (an octo-..?).  Anyway, it was my first time depotting as well, and it went fairly well, if I may say so myself =D

Completed Depotted Quad

Completed Depotted Quad

There is some damage on the brown side of the Roaring Duo (upper left), but I don’t know how that happened – it just chipped off by itself when I flipped it over to add glue.  The tiny indent on the top of the blue side of the Roaring Duo was a slip of my hand.  But I chose to do this colour first, because it’s my least favourite (worst colour pay-off of all the Duos!)  Depotting the rest was a breeze~~

Pink Case & Clear Lid. I glued the shadows on a piece of cardboard that was already lining the case.

Pink Case & Clear Lid. I glued the shadows on a piece of cardboard that was already lining the case.

Glued the labels on the back of the cardboard.  Convenient & disposable!

Glued the labels on the back of the cardboard. Convenient & disposable!

I also successfully depotted all of the accompanying mirrors too – but I have no clue where to put them!  I don’t want to glue them onto the lid, or else I won’t be able to see the colours.  Anyway, I’m still very excited for all the extra space in my makeup drawer now =)

A height comparison of the new quad case with an original Hip Duo case. Nearly half the height!

A height comparison of the new quad case with an original Hip Duo case. Nearly 1/2 the height (including domed top of the Hip Duo case)!

Oh, and I should add that I didn’t have double-sided tape like Katelyn did, so I simply Krazy Glued the shadows on, which isn’t really a problem, since the plastic case itself is not damaged (therefore, re-usable!)

On a different (yet related) note, here’s a look that I did this past weekend for a “celebrating spring & graduation”/shisha-balcony party.

p4250804I basically used the Hip Duos for this look.

  • Gold side of Flamboyant
  • Shimmery light blue side of Showy (from Karen O. look)
  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Gold (bottom inner corner) with the same gold from Flamboyant on top
  • MAC Graphology shadow to line eyes (mixed with UDPP for a lasting consistency)
  • NYX Doll Eyes Mascara in Waterproof

I have one more exam left on Thursday, and then…I’M FINISHED MY UNDERGRAD!!

2 thoughts on “depotting hip duos & spring party look

  1. girll you should def try the purity cleanser its fab! i knowww the price def kept me on the iffy side but once i got my samples i was sold 😛 you should ask for some samples and try it but yah your right sephora does have an awesome return policy 🙂 let me know how it goes! nice job on the depotting project!!

Leave a Reply

