revlon skinlights eye/cheek stains & nyx discovery

I was wandering through Vaughan Mills yesterday, and I found this little hole-in-the-wall store called Designer Cosmetics Warehouse.  It’s not really “designer” per se, but they carry a bunch of discount cosmetics/accessories from pretty random brands.  They even sell NYX!  

It’s so hard to find NYX in Toronto (besides some Pharma Plus stores which have limited selection & are kinda pricey!) so I told the salesgirl I was really happy to find her store.  She told me that they only just started receiving NYX products, so they will soon be expanding the products they carry from that brand!  From what I recall, they had all the single shadows, powder blushes, glitter liners (the one with the tassel on the lid), loose glitter dust, glitter cream shadow palettes, concealers (jar & tube), and all the NYX brushes.  I hope they start carrying the Jumbo Pencils, the liquid pen liner, and their Doll Eye mascaras.

Anyway, I wasn’t interested in getting any more brushes (I recently just bought 5) or their blushes/single shadows (because Makeup Masala does sell them @ better prices, even with the exchange rate).  But I did dig through their dirt cheap discount makeup bins…you never know what you’ll find!

They mostly had stuff from discontinued products from drug store brands, or products from the States (some had Rite Aid stickers on them…?).  After some digging, I found the Revlon Skinlights Color Lighting for Eyes/Cheeks.  They had them in a bunch of colours, but I chose 3 in Mocha, Sunny, and Berry.

p5050774I’m pretty sure the SkinLights collection has been discontinued for a while now, but I’m so glad I found these!  They were a great deal too: all 3 for $5 (CDN)!  I think that they’re great for those “no-makeup days” when you still feel like having some type of sheen or sparkle.  It’s a 1-2 punch as well, since it functions as both a cream eyeshadow/base and a cream blush in one tiny compact.

p5050775

Swatches from L-R: Mocha, Sunny, Berry

Swatches from L-R: Mocha, Sunny, Berry

The mocha reminds me a lot of the NYX Jumbo Pencil in Iced Mocha (obviously…), but when swatched, the NYX Jumbo Pencil is a lot more on the brown/taupe-y side, whereas the Revlon Mocha is slightly more skin toned & subtle.  I bought the NYX Jumbo Pencil in Iced Mocha hoping that I could use it as a natural look on days where eyeshadow is just too much, but it is way too dark for me.  So I’m hoping that this Revlon shade can replace that!

The other 2 shades (Sunny & Berry) are verrrry pretty blush shades.  Especially Sunny – I looove peachy blushes.  I can’t wait to use them!

11 thoughts on “revlon skinlights eye/cheek stains & nyx discovery

  1. ohhh i was just at vaughn mills last week thats how i got my NYX haul as well 🙂 it def is a tiny store but better than what we can get at pharma plus/rexall 😛

  2. woohoo thank you for this info!!! too bad that mall is soooo far! Maybe ill ask my cousin to pick something out, she works there and lives near there. Do they carry the round lipsticks? love those!

  3. omg i got that pink laptop/book purse from the h&m and bloor! heh i went i think it was last Tuesday and they had like 3 left. I got it justttt before i paid lolll still havent used it yet haha i got the UD palette from vaughan mills too!! at the winners there! i checked the winners at college park but they didnt have any ELF stuff! boo. but if you do go back to vaughan mills def chk it out cuz they had a whole bunch 🙂 xoxo, bev

  4. Oh had no idea there was a cosmetics discount/warehouse store at vaugh mills! thanks for the heads up on that 🙂

  5. been meaning to say thanks for posting this! hmm I must remember to coax the bf into stopping by Vaughan Mills this weekend 😛 We’re going to Colossus to watch a movie so it would be perfect hehe.

  6. I AM GOING TO CRY IF I DO NOT FIND SKINLIGHTS! I HAVE USED IT FOR YEARS & ALL GONE NOW! DISCONTINUED & ALL I EVER FIND IS THE TERRA & MOCHA & THEY ARE TERRIBLE COLOURS! I AM AMERICAN & LIVING IN IRELAND & IF I GOT ON AMAZON ID HAVE TO PAY A FORTUNE IN SHIPPING EVEN THO WOULD ONLY COST A FEW DOLLARS TO SEND SUCH A SMALL ENVELOPE! IF ANYONE HAS ANY SKINLIGHTS LIKE THESE FOR EYES & CHEEKS, I WILL BUY THEM ALL FROM YOU!! REALLY WANT THE BERRY OR ROSEY!
    SHEILA XX

    • Hi Josie,

      Unfortunately It’s been a long time since I bought these at Vaughan Mills! I’m pretty certain that the store no longer exists. If you ever find these in another discount bin of a cosmetics shop, post back here so that we can all be updated!

      Thanks!

  7. I have never seen this before but I’m not sure if your interested in this but if you are looking for NYX products, a mall in Markham (close to Toronto) called Pacific Mall actually has NYX stuff. The store is called Phoenix Beauty Lounge. I’ll link the website :http://phoenixbeautylounge.com/ . They still don’t have all the products online but if you are in the area, i would recommend checking it out! They have a bigger selection in person.

    • Thanks, Josie!

      I’m very familiar with Pacific Mall, but I can’t recall whether I’ve been to Phoenix Beauty Lounge! Looks like they have great deals. I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

