ideal man v. 1

One of the benefits of being a single girl is that I can fantasize all I want about my ideal man and not feel a single ounce of guilt.  I made a somewhat cynical post about what I want in a partner, personality-wise, a while ago, but this time, I want to focus on Mr. Ideal’s style.

I think there’s been a definite upsurge in defining men’s style, what with the success of the genius that was A Single Man, and the ever informative photoblog The Sartorialist.  So before I break down Mr. Ideal’s wardrobe, here’s a little photodump for a sense of the kind of style my ideal man calls his own.

From The Sartorialist's "Men of Moscow"

men.style.com: Bottega Veneta 2011 (look familiar?)

men.style.com: Burberry Prorsum Spring 2011 (...and again)

men.style.com: Calvin Klein Fall 2010

men.style.com: Calvin Klein Fall 2010

men.style.com: 3.1 Phillip Lim Fall 2010

men.style.com: Prada Spring 2011

men.style.com: Bottega Veneta 2011

men.style.com: Burberry Prorsum 2011

men.style.com: Burberry Prorsum 2011

I love a good 5 o’clock shadow.

Premiere Model Management: Andrew Stetson

I also love a less contrived, less hipster/trend-following “nerd” look.

Premiere Model Management: Andrew Stetson

I’m seeing a pretty clear pattern of a clean-yet-scruffy look. This really reflects my own personality: I love a well put-together look, but I also love lounging around comfortably (but always stylishly).

I kind of love it when it takes a lot of work to put together a casual look, because it’s so understated.  If there’s one thing I hate the most, it’s any tacky show of brand names on one’s apparel/accessories – one big reason I will never carry any LV accessory with its classic monogrammed pattern (this applies to Coach, Fendi, and Gucci).

Anyway, some food for thought.

More to come!

Leave a Reply

