she’s a triflin’ friend, indeed

During my undergrad years, I loved dressing up for Hallowe’en, because it meant that I could do crazy make-up and hair, and finally use some of the ridiculous clothes I owned.  I even hand-sewed a dress one year, and I still have it!  Last year, I didn’t have any desire to dress up for the holiday, or even go out, since I had just recently recovered from surgery.  This year was a different story.

I’m really tired of naive girls using Hallowe’en as an excuse to get all slutted up, only to end up freezing in line outside of the club/bar/party.  It’s ridiculous.  And I also hate spending ridculous amounts of money on costumes that can’t be reused in some other manner.  Therefore, this year I decided to dress up as something that would require lots of creative shopping/craftmaking and little $$.

The result was, a Golddigger.  I’ve seen girls dress up as golddiggers in the past before, but it looked super butch because they dressed up as construction workers with some gold accents in their accessories.  I was not about to: 1) look butch 2) buy construction paraphernalia.  So I decided to just dress up like a snooty, materialistic bitch with gold shovels incorporated into my costume.

This worked for me because: 1) I could reuse all the gold accessories I purchased. 2) It’s not an obvious costume. 3) I still look like a girl.

Click Image to Enlarge

I got a lot of comments and questions at the party I went to as to whether I was a flapper.  I think the dress and the headband were throwing people off, but the details betray that claim!  The gold flowers on my headband were supposed to represent little gold nuggets, and the shovels were spray painted gold!  And no flapper would wear a blingin’ dollar sign around her neck (actually, one person thought I was dressed up as a Yves St. Laurent model because she thought the $ sign was an “S”).

Here are some more detailed images of my costume.

And here are the tools that I used to create the costume.  The only thing missing is an image of the kitchen scoops in their original state (i.e. not spray painted gold).  They were pretty generic: clear & plastic.

Click to Enlarge

I didn’t take any deliberate “beauty” shots of my makeup, but I did fool around with PhotoBooth right before I left, so here are some of the images – I think you can see my makeup pretty well in these photos.

Happy Hallowe’en, everyone!  Be safe.

Leave a Reply

