bean & tofu salad (it sounds gross but it’s so yumz)

I’ve been eating a lot of vegetarian food recently.  Not because I’m interested in vegatarianism as a lifestyle and moral choice, but it’s just a lot cheaper to order a veggie curry v. meat/seafood curry at my favourite Thai restaurant.  I know.  I am so fiscally responsible (tell that to the brand new dress/boots/bag/jacket I just bought).

Anyway, I recently bought a can of beans (the exact variety and brand in the photo), thinking I’d have a use for them one day.  This is all a part of my new adventures in the culinary arts, btw.  So in lieu of my newfound so-called vegetarianism, I decided to use up the last of some tofu I had in my fridge and make a bean & tofu salad.

Et, voilà.

A colourful, delectable and filling dish.  I ate a bowl of this for dinner with some 12 grain toast.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of mixed beans
  • 1 coarsely chopped medium-sized bell pepper (any colour is fine)
  • 1 quarter of a small red onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup of firm tofu, diced into cubes
  • 1/2 cup of chopped cremini mushrooms
  • 2 handfuls of fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely minced
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  • Drain the bean-y water from the can, then rinse and drain the beans in fresh water.  Let dry.
  • Chop up all your ingredients
  • Heat a pan to medium-high with a dash of olive oil
  • Toss in your diced tofu cubes and lightly fry until golden brown on all sides (doesn’t have to be perfectly even) *Side note: if you don’t like raw garlic, I suggest throwing in the minced garlic in the pan to make it nice and toasty
  • In a mixing bowl, throw in all veggies and tofu
  • Drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar on top
  • Carefully mix all ingredients together, making sure not to mush up all the beans
  • Serve right away, or refrigerate and eat later

I’ve got so much dang fibre in me now. Who needs Fibre1 bars?

Leave a Reply

