what i’ve learned so far

I recently sent an email to a colleague of mine who was wondering why I seemed MIA.  I found myself responding, “Sorry! New city, new school, new program, new apartment = crazy few weeks!”

And it’s true. It has been a crazy few weeks.  As I settle into my new life, I am adjusting, growing, and learning, A LOT.  About my re-adopted city. My (God-given) abilities. My tolerances. My faith. My passions.  And in reflection, I’m in awe of how much one can grow in such a short amount of time.  I am constantly evolving, and for that, I am grateful.

Some things I’ve learned:

1) I am stronger than I thought I was.

This is a purely physical “stronger” that I refer to. After the first time going back to the gym since mid-July, I was downtrodden at how poorly I fared.  However, my body quickly adapted (like, by the second visit, I was way more capable) and I am getting stronger every day.  My goal is to be able to complete 10 full-body push-ups on the Bosu ball by the end of September (but I’m thinking I may have to extend my deadline!)

2) I cannot handle arrogance & stupidity.

I don’t say this in that I look down on people who I think make silly decisions (i.e. I don’t mean “stupid” as in level of academic excellence).  This is me admitting that I am weak in character, so I know that in order to keep out nasty thoughts and ugly feelings within me, I have to stay away from people who frustrate me with their arrogance and poor choices.  I learned this as soon as I put 2 & 2 together as to why a certain set of new people I was meeting (and I am meeting a loooot of new people!), I was immediately turned off by them – they were so arrogant.  Perhaps “arrogance” & “stupidity” go hand in hand, because most times, arrogant people think they are just being confident.  No – confident people know that humility gains more favour in the long run (because, THEY’RE SMART!)

3) I have a passion for helping those who are marginalized.

As soon as I moved back to Toronto, I knew that I would have to get involved in some sort of organization to help relieve the suffering and pain of homelessness, elderly abuse, victimized women, racialized groups, etc.  This is because these problems are very pronounced in Toronto (more so than in Montreal). I have looked into groups and I am ready to be proactive.

4) I think I just may choose broadcasting as a professional stream.

I really don’t have much to add to that. I’m investigating.

5) I’m in for an incredibly tough year.

Academically, spiritually, financially, and socially, it’s going to be tough. I can only be grateful for the challenge ahead of me, though.  Who knows?  Maybe by the new year I’ll have grown even more.

I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

